Richard Cáceres — Timeline of work
Richard Cáceres is an artist who creates experimental systems for musical expression.

ZYO - introduction
HA - development or exposition
KYU - rushing to the end

HARMONY - multiple sounds being noticed at the same time - John Cage


The system.

A system for cooperative musical mediation for three students and one teacher.

A system for spontaneous musical composition and performance for three 
musicians and one composer.

This system is made up of three main components. The first is an interface for
composing music. This composition is fed in realtime to the second component
which is a visualizer of this composition. This dynamic musical score will be 
played on the third component, which is a set of real musical 
instruments/sound makers. The performance by the musicians affects the composer. 
The goal is to	meditate and clear your mind.

The system is realized in Processing/Java, and Actionscript 3. The musical 
instruments are interfaced with an Arduino board. The two applications 
communicate with OSC (Open Sound Control) with a FLOSC ( 


The Five Natural Elements: Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal, Water. 

Everything in the Universe is said to be created from the five elements, and 
all change is caused by changes in the power of these elements. The seasons, 
directions, nations, colors, and other phenomena are associated with the natural
 elements. In Music, the system of pitch and scale is explained in terms of them. 
In the oldest book on music in Japan, Kyokunsyo, in the section Kargemonogatari 
(a story of wind and string instruments), Autumn is related to Kyo Zyo, sound of
metal, and color white. Itikotu Tyo is the center , the sound of the earth, 
yellow, and light purple.

February 2008